top of page

Expectations

We are told that the decisions we make today will shape not only our future, but also the future for generations to come. At the age of 18, should the youth of today be made responsible for such important responsibilities? Bombarded first with GCSE choices, to the dreaded A Levels, choosing a specific field of interest at University, leading us into our career path by the age of 21 (for the majority of people). I don’t know what I want for dinner most days, why am I expected to choose what I want for the rest of my life if I can’t choose the simplistic things in life first?

Once I received my AS Level results last August, I was immediately expected to choose which university I was interested in, which course I would want to study, whether I wanted to actually go to university or take a year out, decision after decision after decision. Only now, mid-March, have I decided what I want to do with the next few years of my life. I’m hoping that these decisions will work out the way that I plan them to, but who knows what could happen between now and the next year. I consider myself lucky now that I have made my choices, but there are still so many youths unaware of what they want to do. Why should they feel pressured into making such big life choices whilst juggling their A Levels and being completely oblivious to what the future holds?

Parents tend to push their children, some are more relaxed then others, and even though we know they are making sure that they do right by us, we continue to feel that they push us beyond our limits and expect too much. If it’s not the parents, it’s the teachers and schools, continuing to stand by the right intentions, but further pushing us down a confusing line of life choices that we should not be made responsible for at such a young age. If teens had the ability to do whatever they wanted, we would live in a chaotic society, so yes, external pressure is a necessity, but to what extent is up for debate.

A lot of questions, not many answers. Much like the response of the youth of today, I guess. It starts at 16, ends at 21, which makes 5 years of life changing decisions. GCSE’s, A Level’s, university, career, forever. Are we really mature enough to decide on our future, which will not only influence our lives, but that of many? I can only hope that the next few generations have more time, gain more experience and have room to mature before they are posed with the daunting system of growing up.


bottom of page